The Newborn Feeding Series: I Want Your Stories!

When I had my first visits with my midwife during my pregnancy with George, one of the first questions she asked me was ‘so will you be breastfeeding?’ The nonchalance with which she proposed it forced me to say yes, by the sounds of it there was no other option. I was given no real information regarding breastfeeding, simply just the answer ‘good’, and a tick in the relevant box.

For me, the choice to breastfeed came easily and the process itself was relatively simple. We kept it up exclusively for six months until we felt like supplementing with formula was inevitable and there was only a few easily solved issues along the way (thank god for nipple balm – ouch!) I found myself lulled, naively, into the belief that every Mother breastfeeds, with it sometimes working out, and sometimes not. The idea that there is multiple options and outcomes for prospective and new Mothers is simply just not advertised. The more Mum’s I meet and Parent Blogs I read, the more I see how diverse the experience of feeding a newborn is – and the unnecessary amount of judgement and stress that can go with it.

So, I decided I’d start a series on this blog, featuring real stories from those who have experienced how tough, rewarding and confusing feeding a newborn can be. I want there to be a source of information out there so that no-one feels like they’re making the wrong choice or that they are by themselves in the decision they’ve made.

I’m interested in hearing from any of you who have a story you’d like to share, whether you breastfed, formula fed, combination fed I want to know how you came to your decision and how the experience was? Did you face any issues? Do you have any advice for prospective Mothers/new Mothers who might find themselves in a similar situation?

If you’d like to be part of the series (I plan on featuring one guest post per week) then please send me an email to rosie.tickner@outlook.com and I’d be thrilled to get back to you with more information! Please get in touch even if you don’t have a blog, and you’d simply like to share your story, I’d be happy to link back to relevant social media accounts as well as blogs.

I hope to hear from some of you soon!

 

Pink Pear Bear
14 thoughts on “The Newborn Feeding Series: I Want Your Stories!

      1. Hahaha they’re so helpful those little ones aren’t they 😂 I’d love you to get involved! I’d be happy to use that post you linked me to or a new one if you have time/want to write one 😊 xx

        Like

      2. I’m trying to scale back freelancing to have more time for other writings! Can we use the one I sent you, and I can carve out one later on if you like as well!

        I’d be so tickled for you to use it! And I would definitely like to write about weaning as well, as I’m sure you can attest, it’s not what you may think and differs greatly for every momma and her sweet little.

        Thank you!!

        Lace

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi, Firstly your blog is awesome! Great idea 🙂 I’ve have just recently written a post about one of my experiences with our four kiddies on my blog. I’m happy for you to check it out and see if you would be keen to include it 🙂 Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would absolutely love to get involved in this (think I already said I would on FB)….I’ll mail you. Ensuring there is enough information out there for both feeding choices is so important and something I’m passionate about. Would love to work with you on this xx #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a lovely idea! I had such a ‘mare when feeding my daughter, it was the most traumatic time and I also had no idea about anyone else’s stories or that there was another option. This series would really help people. If I get a mo, I’d be happy to write up my story. Although it’s almost 6 years down the line and my memory is a little fuzzy at the best of times!! 😀 Thanks for linking up. #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love for you to get involved! Just drop me an email if you ever get a chance to type it up 🙂 I think it’s so important that people know that’s there’s all sorts of options and that they’re doing the right thing whatever they choose! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

