Our February Favourites.

You all know the drill – a monthly favourites post is a staple of the blogging world that doesn’t need much introduction. But I did think I’d try and put a little bit of a twist on it, I thought I’d do a combined family favourites rather than just make it all about me. So there’ll be two favourites each from myself and George but also a family and couple favourite just to make things a bit more accessible to any non-parent/male readers out there.

My favourites this month are a bit of a mix; fashion and books.

Clark’s Black Leather Chelsea Boots

I am strictly of the opinion that you can’t go wrong with an ankle boot. Whether it be black, tan, suede, leather, heeled or flat, they are a classic wardrobe staple and if money allowed I would have a wardrobe full. When I was a teenager I remember thinking Clark’s shoes were so uncool and I would’ve had a full on meltdown if my Mum had suggested we buy my school shoes from there. I don’t know if I was just being an ignorant brat or if Clark’s designs have had a recent makeover but I LOVE the shoes in there at the moment. They’re well made and substantial, no more leaking soles or worn down heels after a couple of months of wear, these things last. My Mum bought me a lovely pair of black leather heeled Chelsea Boots in the Clark’s sale just before Christmas, they’re sadly out of stock now, but there’s plenty left that are similar and I’d really recommend checking them out if you’re in the market for a new pair of boots.

Penguin Classics Hardbacks

3040136347_eeb40c5d5e_b

Can you go wrong with a good book? The answer is always no. If that book happens to come clad in a beautifully designed hardback cover that will brighten up any bookcase then it’s a winner for me. I already had a couple of these specially designed editions, and Frankie very thoughtfully got me another for Valentines Day. We now have; John Williams’s Stoner, Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird and Homer’s The Odyssey. I absolutely love them, I think the cover designs are stunning and they make a really lovely gift (if you happen to be on the look for a last minute Mother’s Day present). Available from Waterstone’s here.

George’s favourites may as well be listed under mine too, I think they’re both amazing!

Haberman 360º Toddler Cup

We are all seriously impressed by this cup. George has a thing for pouring out his juice into other containers, or even on to things that aren’t containers eg. his legs, his table, toy cars. It drives me insane! He also really enjoys drinking out of a glass or mug but these can only be used under strict supervision. So, to bridge the boundary between sippy cup and open container we thought this 360º Toddler Cup would do the job! He can drink out of it as he would a glass but without the worry of spilling or breaking it, it’s amazing. I’ve recommended this product to everyone who will listen, it’s a definite essential for all parents of spill-prone toddlers. We got ours from Sainsbury’s and it was only £4, bargain!

360cup-blue-large

The Usbourne Big Book of Dinosaurs

This was a birthday present from us to George, I got it on a bit of a whim knowing how much he loves CBeebie’s Andy’s Dinosaur/Prehistoric Adventures, and it’s been a big hit! With fold out pages and big illustrations of dinosaurs, George spends forever going through them and asking all of their names – I swear it’ll only be a matter of weeks before he’s telling us what they all are. For anyone with a child who is a fan of dinosaurs this book is a great buy! Available here from The Book People for only £7.99.

AEAXK

I feel like our Couple’s Favourite is possibly a bit of a late one as it’s already seen a huge amount of success, but lately we’ve really got in to watching Breaking Bad. We’d both previously made it through the first Season but lost interest and given up, however, we couldn’t ignore frequent assurances from family and friends that it gets so much better as the seasons go on, so we decided to give it another go. I’m so glad we did! It’s addictive and I love Jesse – what a great character. If you’re looking to binge watch something and you’re one of the few who missed the Breaking Bad fad I’d really recommend taking advantage of the Netflix free month offer and get watching!

Finally (this favourites list has gotten pretty long hasn’t it – sorry!), our Family Favourite is definitely Walby Farm Park. We visited the farm as a treat for George’s birthday and we had a lovely morning there. There’s a huge amount of outdoor activities including an animal barn, trampolines, zip wire, crazy golf, go karts and much more, as well as a massive indoor soft play area and cafe. We couldn’t take advantage of everything due to the weather and George’s age so we’d love to go again in the Summer when it’s hopefully warmer and he’s a bit bigger. If you live in Cumbria or the surrounding area I would really recommend you plan a day out there, especially if you can go outside of school holidays like we could (the less screaming children in the soft play area the better in my eyes). Visit their website for more info.

What have your favourite things been this month?

Cuddle Fairy

7 thoughts on “Our February Favourites.

  1. Those books look beautiful. I buy books on my kindle these days, saves space and no waiting for a delivery. I do miss reading an actual book sometimes. Those look like books you’d actually want to put on display as well as read! #BloggerClubUK

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, I’m a bit jealous that you have so much of Breaking Bad ahead of you! It just gets better and better. In fact I might rewatch. We’re currently binge watching The Man in the High Castle on Amazon Prime (although I’m guessing if you have Netflix, you’re probably not Amazon people as well!)

    I love those books too, they’re stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have breaking bad envy! I seriously have not recovered from the breaking bad sized hole in my life…even Game of thrones couldn’t fill it. Also love haberman cups (esp the cow cup!) and…the classic Chelsea boot. Amazing list of Faves. Xx
    Thanks for linking up to #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Those books are stunning and would make a great gift for collectors – will be checking them out! Also love the sip cup. I first came across this sort of cup about 2.5 years ago in Switzerland of all places and it was before they had made it to the UK. We were on holiday and I had left Monkey’s beaker at home so had no option other than to buy one. At the time it was 17 euros so its good to see cheaper versions have made it onto the market!! Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope to see you again next week x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

