The Tricky Second Post.

Starting this blog opened up some kind of dam in my brain and all of a sudden all I can think about is what to write next. However, I didn’t want to fall into the same trap that many musicians do when writing their second, and considerably more ‘tricky’, album, I wanted to keep it simple and about something I am confident talking about – myself.

People like to tell you what to do when you’re pregnant. They’re almost always trying to be helpful, but more often that not it’s just confusing. I found out I was 30 weeks pregnant in December 2013, a week before the end of the first Semester of my final year at University (I realise finding out you’re pregnant so late sounds a bit insane but more about that another time). You can imagine the immediate chaos of questions – ‘will you graduate?’ ‘why don’t you defer?’ ‘how will you manage the workload and a newborn?’ etc. etc. etc. I had zero answers. All I knew is I had worked hard for three and a half years already and wasn’t going to drop out now. So, against the advice of some of my University tutors I decided to just go for it and finish the year as planned. I handed in my Semester One essays in January 2014 and set about starting my Final Semester modules and Dissertation ready to be completed by June at the latest.

George was born in late February 2014 and I’ll tell you something I did figure out pretty quickly, breastfeeding a newborn whilst typing out essays is stressful. But only five months later I was wearing a gown and receiving my degree certificate – with a suited and booted baby in tow.

I suppose the point of this post is to reach out to anyone who might have been/currently be in a similar situation to the one I was in. If you are I just want you to know that you don’t have to do what everyone else says is best, in all honesty I think if I’d listened to my tutor and deferred I might never have gone back – having a one year old was MUCH trickier than a newborn. Not all the advice you get when you’re pregnant is the right advice for you, and although you’re going to be a Mummy that’s not the only title you need to have, you can also still be a Student, or a Graduate, or a deferred Student, or a Princess, whatever you decide.

10518646_10152477865661236_4786412639772913550_n
Honestly though, look at that bow tie + pocket square!
5 thoughts on “The Tricky Second Post.

  1. I completely agree with the sentiment of this post – it’s up to you what you do and how you do it when you’re a mummy (and even if you’re not!) Your little boy is gorgeous! I’d love to read your story about finding out that you were pregnant so late xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

